top of page

Personal Statement

As a person that has shown dedication and passion towards music in college on their level 3 music performance and production course, as well as playing in a band, I believe I am highly suitable for this course. By being involved in the local music scene shows I am very determined to pursue my career in music and improve as an individual. I believe that by naturally continuing on to complete Professional Music Performance and Production, BA (Hons), this will enable me to achieve my goals and progress as a musician. Growing up being surrounded by music, the only natural outcome for me was to pursue a career as a musician. As an individual that likes to express themselves through music, it would be unusual not to pursue the proposed degree. Music interests me because I find it a good way to express myself and to covey different emotions. Music can also bring back memories from a certain time in life which we associate with a specific song or musical style. This is something which I find fascinating. Throughout the past two years I have also composed a fair amount of music for my band "Ylem Darkul". As well as that I have also composed music for my solo project. During the course I would like to improve my knowledge on song writing and composition. I am suitable for this course as I am very dedicated towards music with a huge passion for the subject. As a young musician, a lot of my time is spent practising in order to master my craft outside of class. Another reason which makes me suitable for this course is because I currently plays in a black metal band which I joined in 2018, therefore, I have a decent amount of experience of working within the industry. Since September 2018 I have played an estimate of twenty shows across the UK. I have been playing shows in various cities such as Ipswich, London and Swansea. Another form of experience that I have gained at is working in a studio in Bristol where I currently work as a studio assistant. Lastly, I believe I am very ambitious and always put in the effort that is required. This can be seen my current coursework at college. Currently, I am studying music performance and production at Weston College which relates to the course that I want to progress onto. The courses are related due to the fact that both courses focus on music primarily and both courses include live performances as well as studio-related work. I strive for improvement and believe that there is a lot more that is still to be achieved therefore I know that joining this course will impact me and help me become the best musician I can be. Outside of college and education in general I have been involved in working voluntarily in a studio in Bristol where many local bands have recorded their material. This shows my dedication along with the determination to do anything in order to improve and learn especially from experienced individuals who can guide me. I am a punctual, responsible and organised individual. This is proven this by my attendance in college and the standard of my work. Furthermore, I am always happy to help others and learn from mistakes. A major achievement for me was supporting Dunkelnacht, a Symphonic Black metal band from France, on their UK tour. I supported Dunkelnacht with my band Ylem Darkul in venues such as "The Unicorn", "Camden Live" in London, "Creature Sound" in Swansea, "Wheatsheaf" in Banbury and "The Gryphon" in Bristol. I am looking forward to be joining this course next year as well as expanding my musical career in music.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Interview Preparation

For my interview I will firstly make sure I am on time and that even a little bit early. I will also need to bring a portfolio of my work that has been completed in college so far as well as outside o

University research

UCW Weston: Cost: £8,250 per year (£24,750 in total) Duration: 3 year course (3 days per week) Location: Weston super Mare Projects: 4 projects each year Requirements: A CDD minimum at A levels or lev

bottom of page