top of page

(FMP) Research (Recording Guitars)

Updated: Jun 17, 2019

In order to not waste time in the studio I decided to look up some ways to mic up a guitar amp to get a good tone. For the recording I will be using 2 mics which will give me a variety of frequencies. By this point I was also pretty certain I wanted to use a shure sm57 due to the fact that it is recommended by many and also due to the fact that I had never tried one before which made me curious if I'll like it or not. from my research I had came to the conclusion that I would have one of the mics being placed on the edge of the speaker to get a more rounded sound while the other would be placed very close to the centre so that I'll get a good frequency range which I could take advantage off during the mixing process. Lastly I am also planning on placing at least one of the microphones off axis to kill off some bass in the tone in order to get that grit that I'll be looking for. Sources: Ola Englund. (2012). Miking a Guitar Amp for Metal - The Ola way.Available: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=maA1wGBX7ag. Last accessed 9th June 2019. Spectre Sound Studios. (2014). How to Record Heavy Guitar | SpectreSoundStudios TUTORIAL. Available: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jfEh79A0b0U. Last accessed 9th June 2019.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Personal Statement

As a person that has shown dedication and passion towards music in college on their level 3 music performance and production course, as well as playing in a band, I believe I am highly suitable for th

Interview Preparation

For my interview I will firstly make sure I am on time and that even a little bit early. I will also need to bring a portfolio of my work that has been completed in college so far as well as outside o

University research

UCW Weston: Cost: £8,250 per year (£24,750 in total) Duration: 3 year course (3 days per week) Location: Weston super Mare Projects: 4 projects each year Requirements: A CDD minimum at A levels or lev

bottom of page