top of page

(FMP) Research (Recording vocals)

Updated: Jun 17, 2019

By the end this week I'll be recording vocals and in order to record them efficiently I had decided to look up how to get a good quality recording by using mic placement and my own body posture. During the research I had stumbled across a article stating how to get the correct body posture and how to warm up correctly before recording. I had then searched for best mic placements and choice of microphones for recording vocals. During this search I had found a forum where average musicians had the chance of recommending some microphones and most of them recomended the SM7. I had no idea if there was one like this in College and so when I was to record the vocals I asked Pete what he would recommend and he said to use the Electro Voice RE20 which i had previously used to record both bass and guitar. I had also then reminded myself that this is the same microphone that the vocalist Tatiana from the band Jinjer had used for a live session recording of the song pisces and I really liked the tone that she managed to get with that microphone. For the actual recording and setting up Pete had helped me with the mic placement. He had placed the microphone at the height of my nose so that I would open up my throat when doing the vocals as I had to lift my head high. I had then raised the mic a little higher but tilted it so it'll be slightly off axis to me to eliminate some low end as my vocals already had more low end than high end and if I didn't do that I'll feel like I would have ended up with a muddy/boomy recording of the vocals. This had not changed my body posture though due to the fact that I had lifted the back of the microphone but tilted the front to aim lower leaving the front at the same height but having it also off axis.


Sources: Camila. (2017). Correct Singing Posture: Exercises And Tips. Available: https://musicaroo.com/correct-singing-posture/. Last accessed 12th June 2019. P-Keisari. (2016). Microphone for low guttural death metal vocals.Available: http://www.ultimatemetal.com/forum/threads/microphone-for-low-guttural-death-metal-vocals.1041379/. Last accessed 12th June 2019.

Owsinski, B. (2019). In The Studio: Four Vocal Microphone Placement Techniques. Available: https://www.prosoundweb.com/channels/recording/in_the_studio_four_vocal_microphone_placement_techniques/. Last accessed 11th June 2019. Napalm Records. (2017). Jinjer Pisces. Available: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SQNtGoM3FVU. Last accessed 11th June 2019.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Personal Statement

As a person that has shown dedication and passion towards music in college on their level 3 music performance and production course, as well as playing in a band, I believe I am highly suitable for th

Interview Preparation

For my interview I will firstly make sure I am on time and that even a little bit early. I will also need to bring a portfolio of my work that has been completed in college so far as well as outside o

University research

UCW Weston: Cost: £8,250 per year (£24,750 in total) Duration: 3 year course (3 days per week) Location: Weston super Mare Projects: 4 projects each year Requirements: A CDD minimum at A levels or lev

bottom of page